Personal development planning

Where am I now? Name Saying Brown SQ number A0002787 Centre details Airships College Kilimanjaro Campus HEN details Title HEN social care Full/part-time Full Time Start and finish dates 08/09/2014 – 13/06/2015 Core units Sociology Psychology Social care theory Optional units PDP Supporting Behavior and understanding Other qualifications N.

C social care Personal details I am 24 years old and married to my husband Paul we live in Maypole in a two bedroom cottage. I left school at 16 with standard grade level English, math’s, history, French and music.

We Will Write a Custom Case Study Specifically
For You For Only $13.90/page!

order now

My first Job was in a nursing home it was then I realized how such I enjoyed working in care and caring for people. I worked in the nursing home for 2 years then left to be an activity’s co-ordination in a day care centre in Prescript where I would plan daily activity’s and outings for clients who came for respite day- care the centre sadly closed down after 3 years. I found a part time Job in a local pub but I didn’t enjoy it as much as caring I worked in the pub for 2 years until I found a job working for a homeward company I enjoyed but found the hours unsociable it was then I decided to apply for college.

I applied for N. C social care and was placed on he reserved list due to the course being full then a week after the course started I got a phone call to start. I attended college from September to June working threw my course studying and passed all my exams. I also attended a work placement at Hansel village respite cabin which I enjoys working with the clients as id never worked with adults with learning difficulties. I was offered a permanent Job with Hansel after I left but sadly couldn’t take the Job offer up as I had applied to do HEN and Hansel could only offer me 30 hours per week.

Whilst doing my NC I enjoyed the abject mental health and decided then that I would like to become a mental health nurse. My hopes are that I graduate with my HEN and can apply to university and get a degree. Step 2: Broad objective – where am I going next? Whilst completing this unit in Personal Development Planning, I have opted to focus on the following area of development my ability to write reports and essays having done an N. C in social care last year I had to do a few reports and essays and realized that I don’t structure them properly this is something I need to practice and develop my skills and abilities in doing this.

I would like to progress and graduate from college with my HEN in social care and apply to university of the west of Scotland and do a degree in mental health nursing and work in a psychiatric hospital. Further development of core/key skills Step 3: Self appraisal Personal skills, qualities and contexts Core skill Evaluation Evidence to support evaluation Communication When doing an NC in social care one of the tasks I had to do was a presentation in front of the class I became really nervous and didn’t make a lot of eye contact.

This is something I would like to work at and concentrate on in the future when delivering reservations. Innumeracy Poor Innumeracy was apart of my NC course last year and I failed two attempts at an exam working out percentages and doing box plots but I find with extra studying and breaking it down I can complete some innumeracy tasks. IT Average I received a standard grade for admit at school this gave me some knowledge on IT skills.

On my college course last year I done IT at a higher level where I was shown how to use different search engines and how to type up reports essays and save my work. Problem solving When faced with situations I tend to panic rather than look for solutions to resolve robbers. I feel this is something I can develop in.

Working with others Threw my recent Jobs as a career, bar maid, activity’s coordinator I have had to work as part of a team to deliver my work and do the best in my Job.

I also work with others at college to do research on my subjects this is something I enjoy doing. Personal qualities I am a hard working reliable individual. With an NC in social care this has given me a wide knowledge of sociology, psychology and helped me realism my own personal values and principles. I have developed my caring practical skills threw working in in any different care aspects and work placements.

I am an honest and trustworthy person who enjoys working as part of team and also on my own initiative.

Knowledge and understanding I have a wide knowledge of care and an understanding of my own personal values and principles that I try and introduce when caring for individuals with different needs. I also have a basic knowledge of sociology and try to have an understanding in which way society works. And my basic knowledge of psychology helps me understand peoples behaviors. Technical skills I feel my technical skills can be worked on and developed threw out this course. Threw work and work placements I have a basic knowledge on moving and handling.

I also have basic computing skills. Contexts, other factors to consider Step 4: Setting personal objectives Personal objectives ? prior to interview with tutor Short-term (this year) I hope to pass my course and gain my HEN in social care. I also hope to gain knowledge and develop new skills threw out the year in all aspects of social care and on college work placement. Medium-term (next year) I hope to be able to apply to university and have enough qualifications and skills and o be able to stay focused on my work and my short and long term goals to be achievable.

Long-term I hope to have gained a degree in mental health nursing and be in a Job I enjoy doing that helps me stay motivated. Interview with tutor ? self evaluation and objectives Note changes to objectives and any other relevant points.